SYDNEY FILM FESTIVAL PICKS BY OLLO

Image

With such a great selection of films at this year’s Sydney Film Festival, we thought it might be helpful to get some recommendations seasoned regulars to help you make the most of that flexipass. This week Sydney electronic outfit ollo share their selections.

Winter Nomads

d. Manuel von Stürler

Both Lars and I chose this one. Switzerland is often reduced to a series of clichés – chocolate, watches, mountains, banks, gold with an unpalatable provenance. But it’s so much more than that. There are so many contradictions too – massive chemical factories and beautiful mountains; the appearance of being conservative while being the birthplace of some truly radical thinking, and the co-existence of traditional and modern ways of life. This looks like a beautifully human study of two colleagues continuing a way of life that has somehow managed to survive industrialisation – just.

The Warped Forest

d Shunichiro Miki

Again, we both look forward to seeing this. Billed as “a strong candidate for the weirdest movie of this or any other year”. But one person’s weird is another person’s normal so statements like that make me wonder who wrote it. Sounds intriguing and hopefully genuinely strange.

Mabo

d. Rachel Perkins

One of Australia’s most important stories.

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry

d. Alison Klayman

As a Mandarin speaker who studied in China, Lars tends to be more drawn to Chinese stories than me, not surprisingly – I’ve seen one too many turgid historical dramas I think – but I’d love to see this. I first heard encountered Weiwei through his work at White Rabbit Gallery. That an artist is trusted enough to design an Olympic venue and is then thrown in jail… should be fascinating. I know some people think art and politics shouldn’t mix, but that’s their loss.

Beauty

d. Oliver Hermanus

This is one of Lars’ picks. It looks interesting to me too for a few reasons. It will be good to see a story like this told from a South African perspective, and I am fascinated by uptight alpha males because they always makes me a bit suspicious that something else is going on in there. I am not suggesting it’s always lust for their son’s best mate. But it’s something…

Modest Reception

d. Mani Haghighi

Another one from Lars. It’s a bit hard to tell what this one is really about from the description but it looks intriguing and distinct from any story our country would produce.

Before the Revolution

d Bernardo Bertolucci

It’s a rare treat to see great black and white cinematography on the big screen it was intended for. I’ve never seen this on a small screen either. This is the film that made Bertolucci’s name so it’s about time I did.

Golden Slumbers

d. Davy Chou

We’re on the same label as Cambodian Space Project, a band that pays tribute to music that was erased by Pol Pot’s regime in the same way as it’s cinema. I’m glad someone is trying to reclaim what was taken away but I can understand others would rather forget. 

The Angels

d. Ken Loach

It was a toss up between this and On The Road. Totally different prospects of course but it’s a list of ten after all. This snuck in because it doesn’t have the burden of living up to a novel I read when I was 18 and the fantasies that subsequently played out in my impressionable rural brain.

Shut Up and Play The Hits

d. Dylan Southern, Will Lovelace

This is the only musical indulgence on the list. When I first heard ‘Losing My Edge’ in 2002 I was hooked. I could be lying on my deathbed and if someone put Disco Infiltrator on I’d be on my feet trying to dance. I didn’t love everything LCD Soundsystem did but I am a huge fan and would have cruelly extinguished several cute fluffy bunnies to have been at this farewell concert. Friends of mine were there. Now ex-friends. Just kidding.

About metroscreenblog

METRO SCREEN | Connect to Create The leading independent screen learning and development hub in NSW, providing broad support for emerging and professional talent in the Australian screen industry for over 30 years. www.metroscreen.org.au

Leave a Reply

